Every year, we look forward to bringing together the tight-knit community of Merola Opera Program supporters at our Spring Benefit Gala. This year we were especially thrilled to honor Sheri Greenawald and celebrate her nearly 20 years of artistic leadership of Merola. We are deeply saddened that the Merola Spring Benefit Gala, Celebrating Sheri, has been canceled, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

We plan to reach out next month with further details on ways you can support Merola and stay engaged with our family of young artists. We cherish you, our Merola community, for your strong support during these extraordinary times. 

Thank you so much for your understanding and your sustained support of Merola.

Celebrating Sheri

A brilliant lyric soprano. A tireless champion of young artists.
An insightful teacher. A keen-eyed artistic director.
These are just some of the many ways to describe the
inimitable Sheri Greenawald.

Celebrating Sheri, the Merola 2020 Spring Benefit Gala,
will honor this amazing woman who has created musical magic for nearly
two decades as director of the San Francisco Opera Center and artistic director
of the Merola Opera Program training program.
We hope you can join us on this very special evening.
It is sure to be a night that will linger in memory,
not only for Sheri, but for all of us in attendance.

The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
A Benefit for the Merola Opera Program in honor of  Sheri Greenawald
Ritz Carlton San Francisco


Guest Artists Quinn Kelsey and Karen Slack


Quinn Kelsey (Merola '02)

Quinn Kelsey

Karen Slack (Merola '02)

Karen Slack



Cocktails and Hors d'Oeuvres
Formal Dinner & Live Auction/Fund-the Future
Special Guest performance by
Quinn Kelsey (Merola '02) and Karen Slack (Merola '02),
accompanied by Mark Morash (Merola '87)
San Francisco Opera Adler Fellows Concert
DJ After-Party
Black Tie Preferred
6:00 PM 


Jamie Cross, Chair
Ruth Uchimura, Vice-Chair

Carol Weitz, Live Auction Chair
Maurice Bizzarri, Website and Wine Chair
Jennifer Brahm, Tickets/Tables Co-chair
Christopher Wiseman, Tickets/Tables Co-Chair
Ashley Crawford, Young Patron Chair
Barbara Bruser Clark
Carlyn Clause
Jayne Davis
David Dickson
Jeanne Dorward
Mary Henderson
Pamela Rigg
Sue York
Patrick Wilken

Gala Sponsors

Accor Hotels
Hafner Vintners
Rigg Estate Vineyards

Table Buyers

Artistic Director Table

Diva Table
Franklin and Cathie Johnson

Leading Lady Table

Soubrette Table
Barbara Bruser Clark and Richard Clark
Jayne and Peter Davis
Bob Epstein and Amy Roth
Pamela and Richard Rigg
Carol Weitz
Susan York

Ticket Buyers

Artistic Director Ticket

Diva Ticket
Susan Anderson and Douglas Norby
Donna Blacker
Robert Ellis
Mary and Craig Henderson
Karen J. Kubin
Nafiseh and Karl Lindberg
Bernice Lindstrom
Victoria Nakamura
John and Judith Renard
Ruth Short

Leading Lady Ticket
Cantor Roslyn Barak
Carol Benz
Mary Sue and Maurice Bizzarri
Clay and Kim Clement
Michael Colbruno
Margareta and Staffan Encrantz
Hugh and Ceseli Foster
Brian and Rene Hollins
Shirley Long
Hilary Power
Deborah Romer
David Stull
Shariq Yosufzai and Brian James

Soubrette Ticket
Judy and David Anderson
Amii Barnard-Bahn
Jennifer and Chris Brahm
Carlyn Clause and Lex Brainerd
Janet Cluff
Antonia Cross
James Cross and Charles Antonen
George and Susan Crow
Dr. Lisa Danzig
Michael Darnaud and Jodi Klein
Jeanne Dorward
Barbara Friede
Diana Fuery
Geoffrey and Marcia Green
Fred and Peggy Heiman
Dr. John Herbert and Ramiro Chavez
David Hugle and Haggai Niv
Anne and Timothy Kahn
Dr. Israel Katz
Jean Kellogg and Henry Tang
Drs. Joan and James Kelly
Thomas A. Larsen
John and Joan Lavorgna
Sylvia Lindsey
Jean and Lindsay MacDermid
Myron Marx and Cora Yang
Donald L. McGee
James R. Meehan
Cathy and Howard Moreland
Erika Nelson and Guy Cross
Robert Oaks and Fred Sheng
Dale and Carolee Petterson
Duane Phillips
Anna and Frank Pope
Suzanne and David Rinaldo
Mike Rolland
Jordan Sachs and Jeannie Sack
Freda Scott and Jason Danielson
Diana Starcher and John Sifonis
Dr. David Stein and Dr. Phyllis Kempner
Blanche Germain Streeter
Conrad and Bessie Sweeting
Ruth Uchimura
Bruce and Fran Walker
Patrick Wilken and David Dickson
Christopher Wiseman and Eric Sleigh
Carrie and James Zehnder
Steve and Connie Zilles